Library Shareholders

To further its transformative impact, JAFSCD became open access on January 1, 2018. We modeled our open access campaign on a model familiar to those involved with food systems — community supported agriculture (CSA) — to become the world's first community-supported journal.

Libraries appreciate and support open access for its broad distribution and lack of paywalls. JAFSCD Lbrary Shareholders support JAFSCD through "shares" in lieu of annual subscriptions.

Being a JAFSCD Library Shareholder brings these benefits:

  • Authors affiliated with the library shareholding institution have JAFSCD’s US$750 article processing charge (APC) automatically waived if we accept their submission.
  • The library is listed as a supporter on the JAFSCD website, issue PDFs, and other locations.
  • The institution receives a free listing in the Sustainable Food Systems Sourcebook. This can be used by any department or program that wants to promote its work.
  • We encourage authors to deposit their final papers into their institutional repositories.
  • Listed in and metadata deposited with the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
  • No reprint permissions or payments.
  • Open access with no embargo.
  • Creative Commons licensing.
  • No individual subscriptions.
  • Altmetric provides metrics of social media attention and impact.

Payment can be made through this site or through major subscription agencies (EBSCO, Otto Harrassowitz, and others).

Ready now? Become a JAFSCD Library Shareholder!

Library Share rates are based on the number of full-time equivalent students attending the institution (2024 rates in US$):

Tier 1 (1–999 FTE students): $330

Tier 2 (1,000–2,999 FTE students): $397

Tier 3 (3,000–9,999 FTE students): $460

Tier 4 (10,000–19,999 FTE students): $533

Tier 5 (20,000–29,999 FTE students): $625

Tier 6 (30,000–39,999 FTE students): $727

Tier 7 (40,000–49,999 FTE students): $834

Tier 8 (50,000+ FTE students): $970

Current JAFSCD Library Shareholders:

Agricultural Research Council (South Africa)

American University of Beirut (Lebanon)

Appalachian State University

Berea College

Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania

California State Polytechnic University, Pomona

California State University, San Marcos

Carleton University (Canada)

Chatham University

Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences (China)

Clemson University

Colorado State University

Columbia University

Cornell University

Dalhousie University (Canada)

Emory University

Florida State University

Gettysburg College

Harris-Stowe State University

Harvard University & Harvard Business School

Indiana State University

Indiana University

Iowa State University

Johns Hopkins University*

Kenyon College

Kwantlen Polytechnic University* (Canada)

Laval University | Université Laval (Canada)

Louisiana State University

Loyola University Chicago

Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)

Memorial University of Newfoundland (Canada)

Michigan State University

Middlebury College

Minnesota State University, Mankato

Missouri Southern State University

Montana State University

New York University

Ohio State University

Okanagan College (Canada)

Oregon State University

Pennsylvania State University

Portland State University

Purdue University

Rhodes College

San Jose State University

Simon Fraser University (Canada)

Soka University of America

Southern Illinois University Carbondale

Southern Oregon University

Stanford University

Syracuse University

Temple University

Texas A&M University

Toronto Metropolitan University (Canada)

Tufts University

University at Albany (SUNY)

University at Buffalo (SUNY)

University of Alaska–Fairbanks

University of Arizona

University of Arkansas

University of British Columbia (Canada)

University of California, Berkeley

University of California, Davis

University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) School of Law

University of California, Santa Barbara

University of California, Santa Cruz

University of Chicago

University of Florida

University of Idaho

University of Illinois at Chicago

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

University of Kansas

University of Maine

University of Maryland

University of Massachusetts Amherst

University of Michigan

University of Minnesota–Twin Cities

University of Mississippi

University of New Hampshire

University of Northern British Columbia (Canada)

University of Oregon

University of Ottawa (Canada)

University of Pennsylvania

University of Regina (Canada)

University of Rhode Island

University of South Florida

University of Tennessee–Knoxville

University of Toronto (Canada)

University of the West Indies (Trinidad and Tobago)

University of Vermont*

University of Washington

University of Western Australia (Australia)

University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point

University of Wyoming

Utah State University

Virginia Tech

Washington State University

West Virginia University

Wilfrid Laurier University (Canada)

Yale University

Yukon University (Canada)

* Denotes JAFSCD's institutional partners, who receive complimentary subscriptions in recognition of their annual underwriting support.

HBCUs, Hispanic-serving institutions, and Tribal colleges and universities receive complimentary shares.

On the cover of our winter 2021-2022 issue, the Regenerative Food System Spiral represents the intersection between Traditional Ecological Knowledge (TEK) (brown) and Life’s Principles (LPs) (green). The internal spiral is the base of seven principles. The spiral is a recurring pattern and symbol both in nature and in Indigenous communities, showing an optimal growth form. This image is Figure 2 from the article Weaving disciplines to conceptualize a regenerative food system. Graphic designed by Ahmed Barakat.